Form of City Government

The City of Roseville follows the Council / Manager “Plan B” form of government. Four council members and a mayor establish the policies and set the direction of the city. The mayor and council members are elected at large and serve four year terms.

City Elections

Elections are held in even years. Two council members are elected in the even year that coincides with the presidential elections. The other two council members and the mayor are elected the following even year election.

The Mounds View School District 621 and Roseville Area School District 623 hold school board elections in odd years. The northwest corner of the city (Precinct 1 and Precinct 2) is in the Mounds View District.

Candidate Filing
To be an official candidate, an individual must file with Ramsey County during a designated period. Ramsey County provides the information needed for filing for candidacy.

2022 State General Election Filings

Mayor Candidates (1 seat):

Dan Roe, Julie Marie Strahan

Council Member Candidates (2 Seats):

Siafa R. Barclay, Wayne Groff, Dale M. Howey, Robin Schroeder, Roxanne Beth Tidemann

Secretary of State Election Candidate Filing Information

Key Election Dates:

  • June 24: Begin absentee voting for Aug. 9 State Primary Election
  • August 9: State Primary Election
  • September 23: Begin absentee voting for Nov. 8 General Election
  • November 8: General Election – polls open 7 a.m. - 8 p.m.

Public Notice

Ramsey County provides information for candidates seeking office for the 2022 General Election.

City Precincts

UPDATE: Precincts 8,9, and 10 are located in Legislative District 66A. The remaining precincts are located in Legislative District 40B. View the Precinct Map (PDF).

The entire city is in the 4th Congressional District (PDF) and in Ramsey County Board of Commissioners District 2.